Binnie Board Chair, Robert Campbell, P.Eng., was awarded with an Honorary Membership in ASTTBC at the association’s Technology Awards & Recognition Celebration. The Honorary Membership Award honors non-members who are highly esteemed in their field and have demonstrated exceptionally meritorious service to ASTTBC (Applied Science Technologists & Technicians of BC).

Former President of the company, Robert (Rob) recently celebrated 40 years of service. Rob became involved in civil engineering as a result of his interest in the environment and in spatial relationships. He started with Binnie as a full-time survey assistant while completing his engineering education on a part-time basis. Over the years he progressed to surveyor, inspector, and then project manager before becoming a professional engineer. Rob received his P.Eng. designation in 1983.

In 1986, Rob was called upon to take over the responsibility of running Binnie. Rob served as President for 25 years, from 1988 until stepping down in 2013. Over the last decade, Rob’s focus has transitioned from the technical to the business side of engineering. Under Rob’s leadership, Binnie has grown from a staff of 8 in 1986 to 170 today. Binnie has twice been recognized as one of the fastest growing companies in Canada.

Currently, Rob is Board Chair of Binnie, an employee-owned and managed company. Rob recognizes the importance of the technologists and technicians on Binnie’s engineering team. Under his leadership, many members of ASTTBC have successfully achieved senior positions at Binnie.

Binnie is committed to giving ASTTBC members opportunities to grow their careers. Binnie currently has 12 graduates with engineering diplomas who are training to become technologists under the guidance and mentorship of Binnie’s more senior members of ASTTBC and APEGBC. Binnie has established the Robert F. Binnie Memorial Scholarship at BCIT for students embarking on careers in engineering and each year Binnie provides opportunities for summer students from technology programs to gain practical experience in the company.

(Pictured L to R: Rob Dos Santos, Tom Rabey, Frank Riccardi, Robert Campbell, James Martens, Darwin Lamont, Catherine Eiswerth, Maurizio Ponzini)